-4 [24 JAN 2006] Go Seahawks!!!

Well by the time I write this post, this is old news. However as a long suffering fan, it is nice to toot the horn (Toot the horn? Hell sound it out using Qwest Field’s PA system!) for once. The news? The Seattle Seahawks are finally going to the Superbowl!

I have been a Seahawk fan since I was 6 or 7 years old. My dad and I used to watch them every Sunday on Q6 TV out of Spokane, WA. And like all Seahawk fans we rode the rollercoaster of highs and lows. I remember them loseing playoff games and my dad loudly cussing everytime they did.

Since leaving home in the mid 90s, I kind of lost track of what the Seahawks where up to, until I get internet access. I could still catch a game if one of the networks was showing a Seahawk game. But since I lived in a area which was Broncos turf, I did not get to see many Seahawk games. Which is just as well since they really stank during that time.  I kept faithful through the previous owner’s midnight attempt to move the team to Anahiem.  I cheered when the ex Microsoftie and all around rich guy, Paul Allen bought the team and promise to keep it in Seattle.   I watched via the Net as the Seahawk’s old home, the Kingdome was imploded.  Thanks to the Net I was able to watch the progress of the Seahawk’s new stomping grounds, Qwest Field, as it rose out of the rubble of the Kingdome.

However since moving to Europe a few years ago, I have to keep track long distance via the Internet. I had been watching the slow but steady rebuilding of the team. I would check the results page on My Yahoo! to see how the ‘hawks were doing any given Sunday. And I noticed the number of games won began to outnumber the games lost. So you can imagine my delight waking up Monday morning, turning on BBC World on the TV and catching the Beeb’s casual mention of the line-up for Super Bowl XXL. After picking my jaw up off the floor, I had to dance a quick little jig not far removed from the kind performed in end zones. Good thing the neighbors downstairs are not home.  A quick check of ESPN’s website confirmed the news.   So come Super Bowl Sunday I will be haunting the Net to see how my team fares.  With luck the Pittsburgh Steelers will go home empty handed and Seattle will get to have a big party the likes the city has never seen.

What an interesting past couple of years this has been is US professional sports. First the Red Sox winning the World Series and now the Seahawks in the Superbowl. What’s next? Who knows but stay tuned. And one last thing, GO SEAHAWKS!!!!

Leave a Reply

